People of Paradise

The indigenous group that I am interested in and want to learn more about are the Kanaka Maoli, also known as Native Hawaiians. The Kanaka Maoli live across all the islands of Hawaii. There are eight main islands of Hawaii. There’s Hawaii, also known as the big island, Maui, Kaho’olawe, Lanai, Moloka’i, O’ahu, Kaua’I and Ni’ihau. I want to learn more about the Native Hawaiians because I lived on the island of O’ahu for two years. I only visited one other island which was Kaua’I. Some of my friends told me that they were native Hawaiians. I would always be amazed whenever they would talk in Hawaiian or tell me some of their traditions at home or when greeting family. I remember having trouble pronouncing their first or last names since it was so unique. One possible tourist activities associated with Native Hawaiians are luaus.  Originally named ‘aha’aina, luaus are known for celebrations such as a wedding or birthday. There would be special foods at luaus such as roasted pig, fish, and rice. Another tourist activity that are associated with Native Hawaiians is surfing. Native Hawaiians didn’t see surfing as a sport as we see it today. They saw surfing as a recreational activity. Hawaii is known for their beautiful beaches and big waves. This attracts many tourists to come to Hawaii who love surfboarding. The third possible tourist activity that are associated with Native Hawaiians is Cliff Diving. Native Hawaiians would impress women by jumping off cliffs and into the water just to show how brave they are. There are many cliff diving locations since Hawaii is surrounded by water.

 

This is a map of all the Hawaiian Islands where the Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiians) lived.

 

This is a map of O’ahu where the capital of Hawaii, Honolulu, is located

