Researching Paradise

I knew little information before studying Native Hawaiians. Before doing this research, I already know that Hawaii was founded by Polynesians who voyaged across the Pacific Ocean. I also know that one of Hawaii’s famous and well-known King was named King Kamehameha. Since I lived in Hawaii for 2 years, I know how to recite the Hawaiian National Anthem and I knew that Queen Liliuokalani was the last queen of the islands before the U.S claimed Hawaii.

Many people see Native Hawaiians as nice and loving people. When you arrive in Hawaii, you are greeted with an array of sunshine and people welcome you to Hawaii. It’s a different “vibe” when you visit the other side of the island, or the windward side Neighborhoods are way different than the leeward side. The windward side is where most of the Native Hawaiians live. People can sometimes give you an attitude or just stare at you because your a tourist and not from the island.  Unlike Honolulu, houses of the windward side are poor and sometimes you can see moss grow outside the buildings because of the rain.

Tourism impacts Hawaii in a positive way. Tourist activities don’t really promote a single story, but it gives an ideal view of what Hawaii was like thousands of years ago. One of the most popular tourist activities in Hawaii is the luau. Native Hawaiians showcase luaus to celebrate parties, weddings, or even a change in royalty . Just like my cultural background, Filipinos also celebrate birthday’s and wedding’s by showcasing a feast with lots of food and dancing.

I considered my research ethnographic by looking at multiple sources before making a conclusion. I didn’t want to just read information off of Wikipedia since anyone can post information on there. I also related my research my experiencing living in Hawaii when I was younger. I would remember if I learned what I researched was taught in school or if I heard it from other people.